Category Archives: WNBA

WNBA 15th Anniversary: Championships by Team

The Houston Comets Won It Four Times

The Houston Comets Won It Four Times

The Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) has been around since 1997, that’s 15 completed seasons now.  Will it be around another 15?

There’s no doubt the league has had, and continues to have, financial struggles.

Take look at the list of champions below.  The Houston Comets, who won the first four titles in a row, have folded. The Detroit Shock, winners of three championships themselves, had to move to Tulsa.

If champions can’t afford to stay in existence or their original city, what is that saying for the state of the league?

Still, three WNBA teams profited last year and the NBA adds support, both morally and in the form of subsidies. The Chicago Sky are a recent expansion team. And many point out that the question of the WNBA’s survival has been around since the beginning without a final answer.

Follow me on Twitter @VinGetz.

1. Houston Comets 4 1997-2000 (defunct)
2. Detroit Shock 3 2003, 2006, 2008 (now Tulsa)
3. Los Angeles Sparks 2 2001, 2002  
3. Phoenix Mercury 2 2007, 2009  
3. Seattle Storm 2 2004, 2010  
6. Sacramento Monarchs 1 2005 (defunct)
6. Minnesota Lynx 1 2011  
  New York Liberty 0    
  Atlanta Dream 0    
  Connecticut Sun 0    
  Indiana Fever 0    
  San Antonio Silver Stars 0    
  Washington Mystics 0    
  Chicago Sky 0    
  Charlotte Sting 0   (defunct)


Lisa Leslie, Sheryl Swoopes, Lauren Jackson and WNBA Players with the Most MVPs

Lisa Leslie, Sheryl Swoopes and Lauren Jackson Are the WNBA's Three-Time MVP Winners

Lisa Leslie, Sheryl Swoopes and Lauren Jackson Are the WNBA’s Three-Time MVP Winners

It’s basketball MVP season, and word is LeBron James will take home the 2012 NBA MVP for his third.

Tomorrow, when it’s official, Sports List of the Day will run down NBAers with the most MVPs.

So, today, let’s turn our attention to women’s pro basketball.

The WNBA has been around since 1997 and has awarded an MVP each year since.

The Houston Comets‘ Cynthia Cooper won the first two.

Lisa Leslie and Sheryl Swoopes, two of the league’s all-time most popular and most-skilled players, have also been around since the WNBA’s inception. They have three MVPs each to their credit and are joined by the Seattle Storm‘s Lauren Jackson, as the three WNBAers with the most awards.

Here is every WNBA MVP winner, ranked by number of awards.

Follow me on Twitter @VinGetz.

1. Lauren Jackson  3 2003, 2007, 2010 (Seattle Storm)
1. Lisa Leslie  3 2001, 2004, 2006 (Los Angeles Sparks)
1. Sheryl Swoopes  3 2000, 2002, 2005 (Houston Comets)
4. Cynthia Cooper  2 1997, 1998 (Houston Comets) 
5. Tamika Catchings  1 2011 (Indiana Fever)
5. Diana Taurasi  1 2009 (Phoenix Mercury) 
5. Candace Parker  1 2008 (Los Angeles Sparks)
5. Yolanda Griffith  1 1999 (Sacramento Monarchs)

Photo: / /

WNBA: Most Points in Women’s Basketball History

Tina Thompson Has the Most Points in WNBA History (For Now...)

Tina Thompson Has the Most Points in WNBA History (For Now...)

Commentary coming up…

Here are the top 20 WNBA scorers of all time.

1. Tina Thompson 6,751 1997-2011 Houston Comets, L.A. Sparks
2. Lisa Leslie 6,263 1997-2009 L.A. Sparks
3. Katie Smith 6,015 1999-2011 Minnesota Lynx, Detroit Shock, Washington Mystics, Seattle Storm
4. Lauren Jackson 5,915 2001-2011 Seattle Storm
5. Diana Taurasi 5,423 2004-2011 Phoenix Mercury
6. Tamika Catchings 5,176 2002-2011 Indiana Fever
7. Becky Hammon 5,090 1999-2011 N.Y. Liberty, San Antonio Silver Stars
8. Tangela Smith 5,011 1998-2011 Sacramento Monarchs, Charlotte Sting, Phoenix Mercury, Indiana Fever
9. Sheryl Swoopes 4,875 1997-2011 Houston Comets, Seattle Storm, Tulsa Shock
10. DeLisha Milton-Jones 4,863 1999-2011 L.A. Sparks, Washington Mystics
11. Taj McWilliams-Franklin 4,737 1999-2011 Orlando Miracle, Connecticut Sun, L.A. Sparks, Washington Mystics, Detroit Shock, N.Y. Liberty, Minnesota Lynx
12. Chamique Holdsclaw 4,716 1999-2010 Washington Mystics, L.A. Sparks, Atlanta Dream, San Antonio Silver Stars
13. Katie Douglas 4,553 2001-2011 Orlando Miracle, Connecticut Sun, Indiana Fever
14. Vickie Johnson 4,243 1997-2009 N.Y. Liberty, San Antonio Silver Stars
15. Yolanda Griffith 4,238 1999-2009 Sacramento Monarchs, Seattle Storm, Indiana Fever
16. Sue Bird 4,103 2002-2011 Seattle Storm
17. Swin Cash 4,032 2002-2011 Detroit Shock, Seattle Storm
18. Deanna Nolan 3,971 2001-2009 Detroit Shock
19. Nykesha Sales 3,955 1999-2007 Orlando Miracle, Connecticut Sun
20. Penny Taylor 3,863 2001-2011 Cleveland Rockers, Phoenix Mercury


%d bloggers like this: