Category Archives: Alternative Sport

Wrestlemania: Hulk Hogan and Wrestlers with the Most WWF/WWE Championship Match Wins

It’s huge and it’s unavoidable. There is no denying the popularity of “professional” wrestling in America, and it’s flagship event…Wrestlemania.

So Sports List of the Day has one for the “alternative sports” slot today.

Tomorrow is Wrestlemania’s 31st iteration. The 80’s phenomenon, lead in its beginning by the likes of Hulk Hogan, Mr. T, Andre the Giant and is still going strong, and arguably stronger than ever in it’s niche market.

Wrestlemania 1985 No title match No title match
Wrestlemania 2 1986 Hulk Hogan King Kong Bundy Hogan defends title; Steel cage match
Wrestlemania III 1987 Hulk Hogan Andre the Giant Hogan defends title
Wrestlemania IV 1988 Randy “Macho Man” Savage Ted DiBiase Savage captures vacant title
Wrestlemania V 1989 Hulk Hogan Randy “Macho Man” Savage Hogan takes title from Savage
Wrestlemania VI 1990 The Ultimate Warrior Hulk Hogan The Intercontinental Champion Warrior unifies titles after defeating WWF champion Hogan
Wrestlemania VII 1991 Hulk Hogan Sgt. Slaughter Hogan takes title from Slaughter
Wrestlemania VIII 1992 Randy “Macho Man” Savage Ric Flair Savage takes title from Flair
Wrestlemania IX 1993 Yokozunza Bret Hart Yokozuna takes title from Hart
Wrestlemania IX 1993 Hulk Hogan Yokozuna Yokozuna challenged by Hogan; Hogan takes title from Yokozuna
Wrestlemania X 1994 Bret Hart Yokozuna Hart takes title from Yokozuna
Wrestlemania XI 1995 Diesel Shawn Michaels Diesel defends title
Wrestlemania XII 1996 Shawn Michaels Bret Hart Michaels takes title from Hart
Wrestlemania 13 1997 The Undertaker Sycho Sid Undertaker takes title from Sid
Wrestlemania XIV 1998 Stone Cold Steve Austin Shawn Michaels Austin takes title from Michaels
Wrestlemania XV 1999 Stone Cold Steve Austin The Rock Austin takes title from The Rock
Wrestlemania 2000 2000 Triple H The Rock, Mick Foley, Big Show Four contenders for title in elimination match; Triple H defends title
Wrestlemania X-Seven 2001 Stone Cold Steve Austin The Rock Austin takes title from The Rock
Wrestlemania X8 2002 Triple H Chris Jericho Triple H takes title from Jericho
Wrestlemania XIX 2003 Brock Lesnar Kurt Angle Lesnar takes title from Angle
Wrestlemania XX 2004 Eddie Guerrero Kurt Angle Gurerro defends title
Wrestlemania 21 2005 John Cena John Bradshaw Layfield Cena takes title from Layfield
Wrestlemania 22 2006 John Cena Triple H Cena defends title
Wrestlemania 23 2007 John Cena Shawn Michaels Cena defends title
Wrestlemania XXIV 2008 Randy Orton John Cena, Triple H Three contenders for title in elimination match; Orton defends title
Wrestlemania XXV 2009 Triple H Randy Orton Triple H defends title
Wrestlemania XXVI 2010 John Cena Batista Cena takes title from Batista
Wrestlemania XXVII 2011 The Miz John Cena The Miz defends title
Wrestlemania XXVIII 2012 CM Punk Chris Jericho Punk defends title
Wrestlemania 29 2013 John Cena The Rock Cena takes title from The Rock
Wrestlemania XXX 2014 Daniel Bryan Batista, Randy Orton Three contenders for title in elimination match; Bryan takes title from Orton
Wrestlemania 31 2015 ? ?


Australia and Countries with the Most Cricket World Cup Wins

Coming Up!

Happy 4th of July: Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest Winners All-Time

Joey Chestnut and Sonya Thomas, 2012 Nathan's Hot Dog Eating Contest Winners

Joey Chestnut and Sonya Thomas, 2012 Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest Winners

We’re living in the Joey Chestnut era.

Chestnut has won his sixth Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest crown, in a row.

You may not know that this grand old 4th of July tradition has been going on long before the event’s two most popular and dominant contestants, Joey Chestnut and Takeru Kobayashi, took it to its greatest renown.

Kobayashi put the event on the map in the early 2000’s. Now it is an annual nationally-followed televised holiday sporting contest. Kobayashi has six titles too – all in a row, but now competes in a rival hot dog event.

Those two eaters have won the most, but there are many more winners you surely haven’t heard of from back in the 1970’s and 1980’s, years for which I can find records. Some of these guys won more than once, too. And looking at the list, you can see these multiple winners, for the most part, won back-to-back. Apparently one dominates the sport for a period and then it’s over, someone else takes over.

We’ll see if Joey Chestnut has what it takes to win his seventh title next year. Or will an upstart dethrone “Jaws?”

Here’s a list of those eaters with the most wins, including all the single winners, too.

The first contest was back in 1916 and it has run, informally and formally, since then (97 years).

Sonya Thomas, “The Black Widow,” has won the two women’s contests (2011, 2012), a new official tradition that began last year.

Follow me on Twitter @VinGetz.

UPDATED July 4, 2014: Joey Chestnut does it yet again – his astounding 8th win in a row.  On the women’s side, though, Miki Sudo upsets Sonya Thomas, the three-time reigning champion, to take the crown.

1. Joey Chestnut 8 2007-2014
2. Takeru Kobayashi 6 2001-2006
3. Sonya Thomas (Women’s) 3 2011-2013
3. Mike Devito 3 1990, 1993, 1994
5. Hirofumi Nakajima 2 1997, 1998
5. Ed Krachie 2 1995, 1996
5. Frank Dellarosa 2 1991, 1992
5. Jay Green 2 1988, 1989
9. Miki Sudo
1 2014
9. Kazutoyo Arai 1 2000
9. Steve Keiner 1 1999
9. Don Wolfman 1 1987
9. Mark Heller 1 1986
9. Oscar Rodriguez 1 1985
9. Birgit Felden 1 1984
9. Emil Gomez 1 1983
9. Steven Abrams 1 1982
9. Thomas DeBerry 1 1981
9. Paul Siederman 1 1980 (tie)
9. Joe Baldini 1 1980 (tie)
9. Thomas Stash 1 1979
9. Walter Paul 1 1978
9. Roberto Muriel 1 1974
9. Jason Schechter 1 1972
9. James Mullen 1 1916

Photo: /

%d bloggers like this: